## Evanston History Center Annual Meeting Minutes June 29, 2023

Trustees Present: Sharon Ephraim, President, Elizabeth Randgaard, Vice President of Marketing, Jenifer McCartney, Vice President of Membership, Geoff Bonn, Treasurer, Mike Sullivan, Secretary, Incoming President Katie Tucker Trippi, A. Louis Allred, Consuelo (Connie) Gillock, Susan Turner, Trustees Emeritus Matt Struve, Doug Honnold, J. Robert Barr

Excused: Alana Aldort, Vice President of Education, Michael Girard, Vice President of Facilities and Collections, Morris Fisher. Ross Mathee, Tosha Wilson

Trustees Elect Present: Kelly Bush, Jill Berryman Demma, Kim Hamilton, Len Koroski

Trustees Elect Excused: Gary Kaufman

Staff Present: Suzanne Farrand, Kris Hartzell, Rachel Jennens, Grace Lehner, Lori Osborne, Jenny Thompson, Eden Juron Pearlman

Meeting called to order at 6:42PM.

#### I. Welcome

President Sharon Ephraim welcomed the trustees and members to the 125<sup>th</sup> Annual Meeting of the Evanston History Center with an overview of the past year and return to pre-COVID protocols and in-person events. Ephraim thanked outgoing Executive Director Eden Juron Pearlman, noting her achievements in the last 26 years and the present strength of the organization going forward: particularly the recent rebranding and new website. Ephraim announced the search for a new Executive Director was progressing and that Lori Osborne, EHC Historian, has been appointed as Acting Director until a new ED is hired. Ephraim gave a brief overview of upcoming events, thanked the members and supporters, and urged new member recruitment.

## **II. Approval of Last Year's Meeting Minutes**

Secretary Mike Sullivan presented the minutes from the last meeting available online and minutes were approved.

#### **III. Treasurer's Report**

Treasurer Geoff Bonn presented the treasurer's report. Specifying some of the gain and losses activity he noted that overall the finances remain strong going into the upcoming fiscal year.

## **IV. Election of New Trustees**

Secretary Mike Sullivan introduced the slate of trustee candidates for the new board, including new\* and continuing\*\*: Katie Tucker Trippi, President\*, Elizabeth Randgaard, Vice President of Marketing\*\*; Jenifer

McCartney, Vice President of Membership\*\*; Alana Aldort, Vice President of Education\*\*; Michael Girard, Vice President of Facilities and Collections\*\*; Geoff Bonn, Treasurer\*\*; Mike Sullivan, Secretary\*\*; Kelly Bush\*, Jill Berryman Demma\*, Kim Hamilton\*, Gary Kaufman\*, Len Koroski\*, Ross Mathee\*\*, Susan Turner\*\*, Tosha Wilson\*\*; Sharon Ephraim, Trustee Emeritus (new office). The incoming board was approved by acclaim.

Sharon Ephraim thanked the outgoing trustee members for their service: Eduardo Gomez, Cynthia Hoffman, Elizabeth Middleton, Mark McGarvie.

# V. Executive Director's Report

Outgoing Director Eden Juron Pearlman reviewed her 26.5 years of service, from Curator to the Evanston Historical Society to Executive Director of the renamed Evanston History Center. She expressed her love of the job and pleasure in working with amazing colleagues. She also noted she will be retaining oversight duties on a few key projects until completion. Pearlman thanked Bob Barr for his friendship and assistance and presented him with a commemorative brick. She thanked Sharon Ephraim for her service and welcomed incoming Board President Tucker Trippi, noting that the organization is in good hands.

# **VI. Closing Remarks**

Ephraim closed the meeting by thanking Juron Pearlman for her service and expressing confidence and optimism about the future of the Evanston History Center. Ephraim restated the mission of the EHC and urged everyone to spread the word and expand the membership.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:12 PM.

Respectfully submitted, Kris Hartzell Director of Facilities, Visitor Services, and Collections

Following the meeting there was a screening of the film *Coolidge* – courtesy of the Coolidge Foundation.